Climate Analogues
Home Output Climate Analogues

Climate Analogues - finding tomorrow's climate today

This new web application allows users to explore climate change – from historical data to future projections – by analysing real locations with similar climates today that selected locations could have in the future. It provides an understanding of the consequences of climate change and the central role played by the mitigation of emissions.

Project

Climate change affects the entire world and every sector. Although the climate is already changing, in many places of the world, the most severe changes are still to occur. There are numerous climate projection models that describe possible future climate evolutions. However, the scientifically anticipated changes remain abstract and the possible scenarios are not immediately understood by everyone. There is a clear perception gap between what models predict and the actual impact of climate change on everyday life. Climate Analogues is a tool that aims to close this perception gap by making climate change more perceivable

Climate Analogues was developed in collaboration with Meteotest and on a project commissioned by the CopernicusClimate Change Service (C3S) to show how data from their Climate Data Store (CDS) can be used to address key climate challenges in various sectors. C3S, for its part, is implemented by ECMWF on behalf of the European Commission. While Meteotest took care of the processing of the climate data, afca. designed the user experience and programmed the frontend. The application relies on easy-to-understand documentation and intuitive user guidance. For quick readability of the climate variables, they were illustrated using common symbols from everyday life. The tool is primarily addressed to the educational sector and to non-experts in the environmental field in general.

Data background

After entering a location in the search box, the tool shows on a map three other locations to which it could have a comparable climate in the future according to certain emissionscenarios (RCPs). The result is based on CMIP5 daily climate model data from CDS and includes precipitation, snowfall, humidity, and air temperature. ERA5 reanalysis data from CDS was used to downscale and correct climate models to 0.25x0.25°C. Meteotest has evaluated and processed the CMIP5 data and programmed an API that provides the three most similar locations according to their climate profile. Euclidean distances are used to determine the analogues, which are then finally displayed in the application. The user can also choose between three different time periods for which year the comparison should be calculated (2050, 2070 and 2090).

Climate Analogues
Home Output Climate Analogues

Climate Analogues - heute das Klima von morgen erkunden

Diese neue und beeindruckende Webapplikation ermöglicht es den Nutzern, den Klimawandel zu erforschen. Durch die Analyse von Orten mit einem ähnlichen Klima heute, das ausgewählte Orte in Zukunft haben könnten, vermittelt die Applikation ein Verständnis für die Folgen des Klimawandels und die zentrale Rolle, die die Minderung von Emissionen dabei spielt.

Projekt

Der Klimawandel betrifft die ganze Welt und jeden Sektor. Obwohl sich das Klima bereits spürbar verändert, stehen an vielen Orten der Welt die gravierendsten Veränderungen noch bevor. Es gibt zahlreiche Klimaprojektionsmodelle, die mögliche zukünftige Klimaentwicklungen beschreiben. Die wissenschaftlich erwarteten Veränderungen bleiben jedoch abstrakt und die möglichen Szenarien werden nicht von jedem klar verstanden. Es besteht eine deutliche Wahrnehmungslücke zwischen dem, was die Modelle vorhersagen, und den tatsächlichen Auswirkungen des Klimawandels auf das tägliche Leben. Climate Analogues ist ein Werkzeug, das darauf abzielt, diese Wahrnehmungslücke zu schließen, indem es den Klimawandel greifbarer macht.

Climate Analogues wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit Meteotest und im Rahmen eines Projekts entwickelt, das vom CopernicusClimate Change Service (C3S) vergeben wurde, um zu zeigen wie die Daten aus deren Climate Data Store(CDS) genutzt werden können, damit wesentliche klimatische Herausforderungen in verschiedenen Sektoren angegangen werden können. C3S wird seinerseits vom ECMWF im Auftrag der Europäischen Kommission betrieben. Während Meteotest sich um die Aufbereitung der Klimadaten kümmerte, gestaltete afca. die User Experience und programmierte das Frontend. Die Anwendung setzt auf eine leicht verständliche Dokumentation und intuitive Benutzerführung. Zur schnellen Lesbarkeit der Klimavariablen wurden diese mit gängigen Symbolen aus dem Alltag illustriert. Das Tool richtet sich in erster Linie an den Bildungsbereich und allgemein an Nicht-Experten im Umweltbereich.

Hintergrund der Daten

Nach Eingabe eines Ortes in das Suchfeld zeigt das Tool auf einer Karte drei andere Orte an, zu denen er nach bestimmten Emissionsszenarien (RCPs) in Zukunft ein vergleichbares Klima haben könnte. Das Ergebnis basiert auf täglichen CMIP5-Klimamodelldaten von CDS und beinhaltet Niederschlag, Schneefall, Luftfeuchtigkeit und Lufttemperatur. ERA5-Reanalysedaten von CDS wurden verwendet, um die Klimamodelle auf 0,25x0,25°C herunterzurechnen und zu korrigieren. Meteotest hat die CMIP5-Daten ausgewertet und verarbeitet und eine API programmiert, die die drei ähnlichsten Orte entsprechend ihrem Klimaprofil liefert. Über euklidische Distanzen werden die Analoga ermittelt, die dann schließlich in der Anwendung angezeigt werden. Der Benutzer kann außerdem zwischen drei verschiedenen Zeitspannen wählen, für welches Jahr der Vergleich berechnet werden soll (2050, 2070 und 2090).