AR Showcase Building
Home Output AR Showcase Building

AR Showcase Building

Embed a construction project in a 3D environment model from swisstopo.
Display the 3D model in Augmented Reality and share it with other stakeholders.

Project

Construction projects come to success when stakeholders from the private and the public sector as well as the general public work hand in hand. All the data is already created digitally but oftentimes it is not easily accessible to all stakeholders. This showcase for Android devices shows how Augmented Reality (AR) makes construction projects more accessible and understandable to a wide audience. And it demonstrates what is currently possible with the excellent survey data provided by swisstopo combined with newly available Cloud and Web technologies.

In the application, a planned development can be embedded in a three-dimensional environment model from swisstopo. The virtual scene including the project is created to be viewed in 3D and to be shared with any stakeholder. The model can be placed in space using the AR function. This visualization helps to convey the base idea of complex building projects, so that stakeholders can inform themselves quicker and communicate with their peers effectively.

Further information about Augmented Reality with swisstopo geodata is available at www.swisstopo.ch/ar.

Technical Background

This app is largely built on open source technologies: The serverless back-end lives in Microsoft Azure. The back-end delivers the Progressive Web App (PWA) to the client device, stores the 3D files (GLB) in a Blob Storage and the spatial data in a Cosmos DB. It converts the different file formats through the assimp library which is triggered by Azure Functions.

The Progressive Web App on the client side uses WebAssembly and Blazor. The swisstopo Web Map Service is used for the positioning of the 3D models on the plane and a Babylon.js component enables the user to precisely align the model spatially. Finally, the Google Model Viewer Web Component (WebXR) enables the user to admire the scene in beautiful Augmented Reality.

Used Geodata

AR Showcase Building
Home Output AR Showcase Building

AR Showcase Building

Betten Sie ein Bauprojekt in ein 3D-Umgebungsmodell von swisstopo ein.
Betrachten Sie das 3D-Modell in Augmented Reality und teilen Sie es mit anderen Projektbeteiligten.

Projekt

Bauprojekte kommen dann zum Erfolg, wenn alle Akteure aus dem privaten und öffentlichen Sektor sowie Anwohner Hand in Hand arbeiten. Die Projektdaten werden bereits digital erstellt, sind aber oft nicht für alle Beteiligten leicht zugänglich. Dieser Showcase für Android-Geräte zeigt, wie Augmented Reality (AR) Bauprojekte einem breiten Publikum zugänglicher und verständlicher macht. Und es wird aufgezeigt, was heute bereits möglich ist mit den hervorragenden Vermessungsdaten von swisstopo in kombination mit neu verfügbaren Cloud- und Web-Technologien.

In der Anwendung kann ein Bauvorhaben in ein dreidimensionales Umgebungsmodell von swisstopo eingebettet werden. Die virtuelle Szene kann in 3D betrachtet und mit anderen Beteiligten geteilt werden. Das Modell kann mit der AR-Funktion im Raum platziert und von allen Seiten betrachtet werden. Diese Visualisierung hilft die Grundidee komplexer Bauprojekte verständlich zu vermitteln - so dass sich alle Stakeholder schneller informieren und sich mit anderen Projektbeteiligten einfach austauschen können.

Weitere Informationen zu Augmented Reality Anwendungen mit den Geodaten von swisstopo finden Sie unter www.swisstopo.ch/ar.

Technischer Hintergrund

Diese App baut grösstenteils auf Open Source Technologien auf: Das serverlose Back-End lebt in Microsoft Azure. Das Back-End liefert die Progressive Web App (PWA) an das Endgerät, speichert die 3D-Dateien (GLB) in einem Blob Storage und die räumlichen Daten in einer Cosmos DB. Es konvertiert die verschiedenen 3D-Dateiformate mithilfe der assimp Bibliothek, die von Azure Functions ausgelöst wird.

Die Progressive Web App auf der Clientseite verwendet WebAssembly und Blazor. Der swisstopo Web Map Service wird für die Positionierung des Projekts auf der Karte verwendet und eine Babylon.js-Komponente ermöglicht es dem Benutzer, das Modell präzise auszurichten. Schließlich ermöglicht die Google Model Viewer Web Komponente (WebXR) dem Benutzer, die Szene in Augmented Reality zu bewundern.

Verwendete Geodaten